Friday, June 17, 2016

HMS Malaya Cup & Singapore FA's distinguished record

Singapore FA has had a long and distinguished record in the Malaysia/Malaya Cup tournament since 1921.

We hold a series of firsts - including being the first winner of the Cup in 1921, first team to win a hattrick of titles and first to win at Shah Alam Stadium in 1994.

Hence it was really awesome tocome across this Souvenir Magazine from the 1958 Final on Ebay (can't tell you how much I paid cos my gf would kill me) and see how it completes the set as I found a Football Rules book from Penang 1959, which contains the pictures of the 2 teams in the 1958 Malaya Cup Final.

Quah Kim Swee's 1st Malaya Cup Final!

The actual HMS Malaya Cup which is permanently displayed in the 
Museum Negara in Kuala Lumpur

Singapore & Penang Teams from 
the 1958 Finals

Victorious Penang, hosted by the CM
 at his Residence

A message by Sir William Goode, then Governor of Singapore

Captain Lee Kok Seng & Team!

SAFA Council circa 1958 was headed by long time President, Soh Ghee Soon

Singapore's proud record!

No comments: